F – Independent National Electoral Commission

Independent National Electoral Commission

14. (1) The Independent National Electoral Commission shall comprise the following members—

(a) a Chairman, who shall be the Chief Electoral Commissioner ; and

(b) twelve other members to be known as National Electoral Commissioners.

(2) A member of the Commission shall—

(a) be non-partisan and a person of unquestionable integrity ; and

(b) be not less than 40 years of age in the case of the Chairman and not less than 35 years of age in the case of the National Commissioners.

(3) There shall be for each State of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, a Resident Electoral Commissioner who shall—

(a) be appointed by the President subject to confirmation by the Senate ;

(b) be a person of unquestionable integrity and shall not be a member of any political party ; and

(c) not be less than 35 years of age” ; and

(d) in paragraph (15)(c), line 2, by inserting immediately after the word “finances”, the words, “conventions, congresses and party primaries”.

15. The Commission shall have power to –

(a) organise, undertake and supervise all elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President, the Governor and Deputy Governor of a State, and to the membership of the Senate, the House of Representatives and the House of Assembly of each State of the Federation;

(b) register political parties in accordance with the provisions of this Constitution and an Act of the National Assembly;

(c) monitor the organisation and operation of the political parties, including their finances;

(d) arrange for the annual examination and auditing of the funds and accounts of political parties, and publish a report on such examination and audit for public information;

See also  PHOTOS: Delta Man To Marry Two Pregnant Brides

(e) arrange and conduct the registration of persons qualified to vote and prepare, maintain and revise the register of voters for the purpose of any election under this Constitution;

(f) monitor political campaigns and provide rules and regulations which shall govern the political parties;

(g) ensure that all Electoral Commissioners, Electoral and Returning Officers take and subscribe the Oath of Office prescribed by law;

(h) delegate any of its powers to any Resident Electoral Commissioner; and

(i) carry out such other functions as may be conferred upon it by an Act of the National Assembly.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.