Biosafety levels

biosafety are categorised into four level.

This level are the basis on which infectious agents assigned based on their virulence. This levels of biosafety each of it has it own guidelines approach containment level which made up of combination of laboratory practice and techniques, safety equipment and laboratory equipment. Detail of each of this level are discussed below.

Biosafety level 1

Biosafety level 1 is made for laboratories in which work is carried out with a well outline and a characteristics organism not known to cause disease in healthy adult human being. This include non violence strain of Escherichia coli such as k12 and Bacillus subtilis. This biosafety level 1 include in a standard microbiological practice and safety equipment is not required.

Biosafety level 2

Biosafety level 2 is the lowest level for clinical laboratories in which work is carried out with accurate risk agent involved in the community and associated with human disease of different severity.
Hepatitis b virus

Salmonella species

Toxoplasma species etc

The listed above species of microorganism are the microbiological organism assign to the containment of this level.

Biosafety level 2 involve the following;

1 limited access to the work area

2 good microbiological practice

3 decontaminations of all infectious waste

4 use a protective gloves

V biological safety cabinet of class 1 and 2 must be used when processing a specimen that may create a aerosols.

In some other case, this agent can be used safely in activity carried out on open bench.

Biosafety level 3

Biosafety level 3 is compulsory in the laboratory where work is done with agent that inline with a risk of serious or fatal aerosol infection.

See also  Missing Boy In Ekewan Barrack found after 4 days

Such of microorganisms include;

Mycobacterium tuberculosis

Brucella species

Yersinia pestis

Coccidiodes imitis

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)

On this containment level serious emphasis is put on primary and secondary barrier to protect personnel community and environment from exposure to a dangerous infectious arosols. Good taken care of biological safety cabinet class 2 and 3 should be used for all manipulation of infectious material.

Biosafety level 4

Biosafety level 4 practice safety equipment and facility applicable to work with dangerous and toxic agent which pose a high risk life-threatening disease to individuals.

High containment and decontamination stamp applied in biosafety level 4, that is often found in research and reference laboratories.

Example of few in number such as

Lassa fever

Ebola virus

Marburg virus

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.