Presidential Committee Approves Indefinite Suspension Of 12 EFCC Directors


A presidential Investigation Committee led by Justice Isa Ayo Salami has approved the indefinite suspension of all the 12 Directors of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

Several reports have it that Olanipekun Olukoyede, the secretary of the main antigraft agency received a letter confirming his indefinite suspension from the commission.

Speaking further on the latest development the eleven other director were given their suspension letter by the commission.

According to reports, some of the directors affected by the suspension had been a part of the team investigating Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN).

The agency’s Secretary, Olanipekun Olukoyede was suspended while others affected by the suspension include Kabir Latona, Muhammed Abba, Ibrahim Buhari, Rotimi Oyedepo.

Before their suspension, some of the officers were handling sensitive investigations before they received letters notifying them of their suspension from the anti-graft agency on Monday.

A source speaking to The Nation said: “After being in limbo for one week, we got our suspension letters on Monday.

“We were informed that the suspension is indefinite. We have taken it in good faith. But most of us have not received queries in our career.

“We have not even appeared before any disciplinary committee. We appeal to President Mummadu Buhari to intervene by reversing the suspension.”

“It wasn’t a friendly session but we were able to make some clarifications on our performance in office.

READ ALSO  EFCC re-arrests popular social media celebrity, Mompha for money laundering

You May Also Find This Article interesting


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.